Both the Elks National Foundation’s and our local Lodge 1291’s Scholarship Programs are underway.

To access both of these programs, high school seniors should contact their school’s guidance counselors and work with the guidance staff in completing their applications for the 2021 Most Valuable Student (MVS) Scholarship Program.

All applications are to be completed online by accessing them at enf.elks.org/mvs. Within the body of the application, students can select which of the five (5) closest lodges to their home address they want to receive their applications. PLEASE INFORM ANY STUDENTS YOU KNOW, ESPECIALLY THOSE IN YOUR FAMILY, TO DESIGNATE LAKELAND LODGE 1291 TO RECEIVE THEIR APPLICATIONS. The deadline for making application to the MVS Program is November 15, 2021.

If any member of Lakeland Lodge 1291 has a child or grandchild who is a high school senior planning to attend a college or university next year (2021), please have them complete a MVS application as explained above. I am also asking that you let me know that your child or grandchild is applying by dropping me an email at edcarley@tampabay.rr.com.  If your child or grandchild attends a high school outside the Lakeland area, please let me know that as well because special provisions need to be made to get a “hard copy” of their application to our local Scholarship Committee for consideration.

LEGACY AWARDS – In addition, children and grandchildren of active Lakeland Lodge members can also apply directly to the Elks National Foundation (ENF) for a Legacy Award. THIS IS SEPARATE FROM AND IN ADDITION TO THE MVS PROGRAM AND OUR LOCAL LODGE’S PROGRAM. Legacy applications are also done online at enf.elks.org/leg and the deadline for Legacy applications is January 31, 2022 at 11:59 a.m. Central Time.

As our Lodge’s Scholarship Chairperson, I am very willing to discuss the various Elk Scholarship Programs with any of our members and answer any questions you might have. Again, my email address is edcarley@tampabay.rr.com .

Ed Carley, Lodge 1291

Scholarship Chairperson